www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chad

Time for my monthly update?

I don't understand men. I truly don't. I started dating someone from match and I think it's over and I have no idea why.

Let me start from the beginning.

I met Chad through match.com. We went on our first date sometime after Valentine's Day. We talked via email for a few weeks prior, and he was smart and thoughtful and I was really looking forward to meeting him.

Our first date was awkward (more so than usual). It wasn't unpleasant (we were together for nearly 3 hours), but I could tell he was uncomfortable.

He kept looking past me, so the first thing I thought was, "Clearly he thinks I'm unattractive." So that made me uncomfortable, but we somehow moved past that and were able to talk for awhile.

The most suprising thing about our date was when we realized that we went to the same schools - from first grade - college (he is 3 years older than me though).

All of a sudden he looked at me in shock and said, "Lizzy?" That was what I was called until 6th grade. Chad realized I was the Lizzy that rode his bus - he lived in the neighborhood next to ours and was in my older brother's class. He remembered me as a first grader when he was a fourth grader!

We were both kind of freaked out by that. Just so strange that we met through match, but technically have "known" each other for 25 years!

The end of our date was awkward too though. He patted my back and said, "Thanks." I figured I would never hear from him again, and that was fine with me. I didn't think there was any chemistry.

A few days later, he sent me and email that said, "Post-date thoughts?"

So I wrote back, "Well, you don't seem crazy and you were actually nice and polite, so if you want to go out again, that's fine with me. It's so hard to tell chemistry on the first date."

Not the most encouraging of answers, but I felt put on the spot. Anyway, he asked me out again and we made plans for that Friday.

It was one of the most fun dates I've ever been on. We went downtown (which I rarely do), ate dinner at a nice restaurant (co-owned by my other boyfriend Peyton Manning) and went to see a Johnny Cash tribute band. It was different and fun and we were out until 3 am.

He kept looking at me and touching my arm, but he didn't try to kiss me, which was upsetting. I wanted that first kiss!

After that, I didn't hear from him for a few days, so I send him an email and said, "Your turn for the post-date wrap-up. Thoughts?"

I waited 2 or 3 days and didn't hear from him. I decided to text him and said, "Even though I didn't hear back from my email, I wanted to let you know that if you wanted to go out again this week, I can only go out Friday or Sunday."

He immediately texted back, "Crap. So sorry, I never check my personal email. Here is my work email XXXXX and I would love to go out with you again. Friday sounds wonderful."

So we talked last week over email (his work email!) and on Friday afternoon I finally told him that I moved back home with my parent's temporarily. It was near the end of the day and I didn't hear back from him. I figured he would just call me later. Our plan was to do something at 7 and I thought he was picking me up (which is why I told him about living at home).

I got all ready and at 6:45 texted him and asked him if he was picking me up or if I should meet him. Nothing. At 7:10 I called him and it went straight to an un-set up mailbox. Tried again at 7:30 - same thing.

I was SO mad. I called my friend and told her that I was set up and asked her if she could think of any reason he would not be able to call me (aside from the obvious that he was standing me up).

All of the scenarios only happen in movies - car accident, family emergency, cell phone AND computer are missing and/or broken. Yeah, doesn't happen.

I got off the phone with her and sent him a text (which was pretty nice considering I wanted to kill him): "Are you kidding me? I thought you would at least have the integrity to cancel if you didn't want to go out with me. A simple text would have been fine. WTF?"

About 5 minutes later, my phone rang and it was a different area code. I figured it was him calling from work (he works about an hour away). I didn't answer because I was so mad. I listened to the voicemail...

He had forgotten his cell phone and laptop at work because he worked late and was in a hurry to get home so he wouldn't be late for our date. He got home at 6:45 and realized that he forgotten them, so he had no choice but to go all the way back to work.

At that point he just turned on his phone to get my number, but didn't check his messages. He was going to call me when he got in the car.

He was so sweet sounding and apologetic.

I felt so badly about my text! He read my text and texted me back before I could call him. His text started out with, "Wow. Nice anger," and then he apologized again.

I called him back and we talked it out and decided that we still wanted to go out. He just left, so he wouldn't be at my parent's house until almost 9. I asked him if he needed directions and he told me that he remembered from the bus - crazy!

He texted me right before 9 and told me to bring hat and gloves. I was confused since it had been such a nice day - almost 70 and was still fairly warm. I grabbed them and when he pulled up, he was driving a jeep - the off roading kind without a top or doors.

I almost died. I have always wanted to ride in one of those. I think those are the hottest cars. It was green, covered in mud and he was grinning at me from the front seat in a ski hat, stubble and a Northface jacket. So incredibly sexy.

OH, and also, he's huge, which is why I'm kind of surprised I don't remember him. He's 6'9" in barefeet. So, over 7 feet tall when he's out in shoes. Crazy tall.

We went to dinner first. We got sushi and I tried things I normally never would. He brings out the adventurous side of me. Octopus, sea urchin, squid, etc. It was all pretty good.

After that we went to a bar down the street. We sat side-by-side on couches and as the night progressed, we were touching more and more. Flirting and being sexy. It was so fun.

I challenged him to a skee ball contest and the bet was that whoever lost had to make dinner for the other person. I lost, but it was such a fun game. Lots of challenges, lingering looks, etc.

At one point he told me I did 2 things that drove him crazy: 1. twirl my hair around my fingers (which I do all the time); and 2). look at him sideways with a come hither glance (which I have totally perfected).

At one point he went to the bathroom and I sat at the bar saving our seats. When he was walking back towards me, I got up and went to the bathroom. The look between us was so heated. He texted me (while I was in the bathroom), "Really?" All I wrote back was, "Mmmmm" and he said, "I know."

When I got back, he leaned over (while I was talking), held my face in his hands and kissed me. He said, "I wanted to get the first kiss out of the way now." SO hot!

We stayed until 3 and then on the way back I said, "I don't want this night to be over." He said, "It's not" and we drove to the lake and hiked down to the water. We sat on a bench (this was in the park so it was hidden and completely deserted) and made out and talked until 6 am!

Such a great date - that was just last weekend. We saw each other the next night - and slept together for the first time last Saturday. We laid in bed having sex and talking and laughing until almost 3 pm on Sunday.

He was busy until Wednesday, but that night he came over and I made him dinner. We had a great time, talking, laughing, having sex until 3 am. That night he told me that he wasn't interested in dating anyone else. He wanted to see what happened between us. So, not a boyfriend, but dating exclusively is how I interpreted it.

He came over again on Thursday (my parent's were out of town until last night, by the way) and we went out for sushi again and came home, watched Gray's Anatomy (made out during all the commercial breaks) and went to bed. We were only up until midnight or 1 Thursday night.

Oh, he also asked me to spend St. Patty's Day with him and his friends (great sign) and I asked him if he wanted to go to my friend's house (who lives near a winery) and then to IU (where we both went to school) for the night. He said yes and seemed excited about it.

So what happened? I have NO idea. He had asked me if I wanted to go to South Carolina with him this weekend (he was picking up a car), but immediately changed the subject after, so I could tell he was nervous about asking. I didn't bring it up, and I wasn't sure I wanted to go. He was leaving on Friday after work, driving as far as he could and then crashing somewhere and then meeting the guy in Greenville, SC at noon on Saturday. Then he was driving straight back and was going to get home sometime super late last night/this morning.

I emailed him on Friday and asked when he was leaving and I was trying to figure out if it was feasible for me to go. He emailed me back that he wasn't sure if he was going now - the seller was being shady and then asked how my day was going.

I got kind of busy so I didn't respond until later in the afternoon and just said, "My day is fine. Busy, but it's Friday! Well, if you don't go to SC, at least the weather is supposed to be great and you can get a lot of things done at home." He's rebuilding his deck.

And nothing. Not one word since. I finally broke down and texted him last night, "So...did you go to SC?" and NOTHING.

Why does this shit happen to me? My mom thinks I'm being overly sensitive and that maybe he forgot his phone (really, again?) or he forgot his charger.

I tend to think that he somehow decided that he hates me and is never going to talk to me again.

I really, really liked him. He was cute. Hugely tall - freakishly tall, but cute. Dimples, dark hair (which he's balding so it's buzzed), green eyes, etc.

He's the smartest person I've ever met. So analytical - it's what he does for a living. He's the head of IT Solutions for Toyota in the midwest. SO smart!

He owns a house, he's super handy and can do ANYTHING. He rebuilds and flips cars (he loves cars and owns 20 of them), he's redoing his entire house.

Okay, so a smart guy that can also fix anything?!?

And you know how I love bad boys, but was trying to not? Um, he's kind of satisfies that area too. No, he's not a drug addict or covered in tattoos (not a single one!), he doesn't smoke or drink too much and he's not an asshole.

He races cars. Legally, at a race track. He has a sponsor and a following and he gets paid. It's dangerous racing - Figure 8, which means you cross traffic twice a lap. He builds his own car and loves doing it. He also has motorcyles and loves speed and driving and...it's so redneck, but so sexy all at the same time.

And, like me, he LOVES sex. I'm kind of a freak and so is he. I'm not sure if I'm innately attracted to those guys or if I bring it out in people. Regardless, no problem at all in that department.

So, that's where I am. Sitting by the fucking phone, which is what I have been doing all weekend. I didn't go out at all. It's been such a boring, depressing weekend. I hate it.

I hope he calls/texts back today. I hope he has a great reason. I hope he wants to keep seeing me. I hope, hope, hope that this is not the same thing that keeps happening to me over and over again.

I'm running out of hope. I don't know what to do when I can't keep trying...

8:53 a.m. - March 15, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007