www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What should I do?

I have a problem and need some advice...

Michael was going to come visit the weekend of December 13th. He is not able to come because he cannot take off of work (he works for his step-father who owns a retail store). He cannot come any other weekend in December because he has his daughter over the holidays.

When he told me this yesterday, I was heartbroken. Keep in mind, we haven't seen each other since October 13th.

He texted me the bad news and then I cried about it to my mom and best friend (to get the emotion out first).

He called me and when I answered, he asked if I had been crying. I said no and changed the subject.

I'm mad that he can't come. Not especially mad at him - although to be honest, he waited until yesterday to ask off, but I don't think he would have gotten it anyway. But mad and frustrated and sad at the situation.

His, "I'll do whatever it takes to make us right" after our last breakup seems to be falling short.

Anyway, he was apologetic and I was short with him. He promised that he would fly out here one of the first few weeks of January.

The conversation was short and ended very abruptly (on my part).

Now what? Here is what I think I should do:

Not talk to him for a few days...absence makes the heart grow fonder and all that. Not be so available. Make him want me since I'm not some stupid lap dog jumping for his attention.

I also thought that in a few days (or after the first time we talked again), I would suggest that I fly out there that weekend (even though he would be at work one of the days and I would be stuck in a hotel room) so we can see each other anyway.

My mom thinks that's the worst plan ever. She thinks that I should act like a loving girlfriend and let him know that I'm sad and disappointed that he can't be here. She thinks that having a loving girlfriend who tells him that she's sad will have a better affect on him.

That it'll make him do anything to come here (although it really can't happen - he can't take off another Saturday until January and he'll have his daughter, so it just won't happen).

And then I shouldn't even mention going out there. That I should just wait until January. Be the loving, sad girlfriend waiting for him.

Ew! I don't want to be some desperate lonely asshole waiting for Michael to bless me with his presence.

And I'm not sure I want to go 3 months without seeing him. Isn't me not going to him, cutting off my nose to spite my face?

My mom thinks that me flying out there is truly him winning. That I go to him (even though he would still come here in January)...

I don't know...I should just be honest, maybe? That's my mom's solution. Not play games or try to even the score or whatever.

Don't guys like a chase though? Why would he rush to see me if he knows I'm here mooning over him?

Why don't guys come with handbooks or instruction manuals?

I'm giving myself and ulcer worrying about this...it's pretty much ruined my Thanksgiving. Blah!

So, thoughts (not even sure anyone reads this)? What would you do?

9:45 p.m. - November 27, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007