www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Opportunity

I have worked in the not-for-profit world since receiving my Masters in Social Work. I started out grant writing and marketing and have since moved to doing more financial/management. I do accounting, staff management, HR, volunteer/intern management and training, etc. My official title was Operations Director and I really loved my job and my co-workers.

Even though my role was management and rather large, I didn�t make a lot of money. I expect that since I�m in the not-for-profit world, but now I�m $16k in credit card debt and I�m still renting a house. I cannot afford to keep living like this.

Anyway, an opportunity opened itself up to me and I�m leaving my job, but staying in the not-for-profit world. Just on the other side.

I�ll be working at a foundation that hands out the money. A multi-million dollar company. Guess what? They can afford to pay their employees a lot more.

My starting salary is over $10k more than what I was making. And I get 5 weeks off a year and free health insurance.

That�s my big news. I�m locking up because I don�t want anyone from the foundation to stumble upon this diary.

And I�m starting at the bottom of this new company. Not the bottom-bottom, but bottom of the management. I could be making a TON more by the time I get up there. And the Executive Director is someone very famous here. A government person. It looks really good to have this person as a future reference.

They wear suits everyday and it�s very serious, serious. My old job (which I�m still here � for the next few weeks � I just turned in my resignation today) was SO laid back. That was one of the perks. I could wear whatever I wanted to work. Today is flip flops, a white Old Navy skirt and a turquoise tank top.

I also made my own hours. I don�t know when I�m going to find the time to workout now that I can�t come and go as I please.

So yeah, lots of changes. I kind of felt like I was choosing between money and happiness, and I chose money. But who�s to say that I won�t be happy at this new job? It�s just going to be so different. I hope I made the right decision.

11:09 a.m. - July 09, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007