www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gym Woes

My new gym opened and I�m not sure if I like it better. Actually I don�t like it better, but there are a few perks: it�s very close to where I work (I can see it from my office window) and there are a lot of guys my age.

I love my other gym. I love the machines, the building, the classes, etc. It�s also 20 minutes away.

The new gym has lots of glass walls. I will never swim there because when you walk in, you see the swimming pool. I do not need to be on display in my bathing suit in front of the entire gym. I would probably provide great motivation for everyone, but still...

The spinning room is also open to the entire gym and the thought of my jiggling ass on display makes me cringe � but at least I�ll be wearing more than a bathing suit and my back will be to the gym, so I�ll pretend like nobody is behind me.

The old gym is concrete and kind of dark but private. And I don�t feel like I need to impress anyone. But it�s not as light and pretty.

Also? I love the machines better at the old gym. They are Precor machines (versus Nautilus, which is what the new gym has).

At the old gym, I can do 3.35 miles in 30 minutes on the elliptical. At the new gym, I can do 2.25 miles in 30 minutes. I hate that there is such a big difference. Also, I burn 100 more calories doing it at the old gym (I know it�s all relative, but it�s still annoying).

Also, the weight machines are different. At the old gym I can lift 80 pounds with my inner thighs. At the new gym, on the exact same machine (just a different brand), I can lift 140. Pounds, not kilograms (I double-checked). I asked one of the trainers why it was so different and he told me all machines are different. Okay, but shouldn�t a pound weigh a pound no matter what? So how much can I really lift?

Where I was lifting 13,000 pounds a day at my old gym, I�m lifting 25,000 pounds at the new gym (doing the exact same thing).

At the old gym has Fitlinxx, which is a computer system that tracks the amount of weight you lift, your seat settings, and counts the number of reps you do (it also counts the number of seconds you lift up and down which is important when you do slow lifts). This is my favorite thing about my old gym.

At the new gym, I�m not really able to keep track and also I�m not lifting as slowly as I need to.

But, on Sunday�s the old gym doesn�t open until 11 am, while the new gym opens at 8 am. During the summer, when I like to lay out on the weekends, I won�t be able to go until 4 or 4:30 on Sunday and by then, I might not have the motivation to go. I like to get up and get my workouts done on the weekends.

Also? The new gym does not have Arc machines. The only machine I can do there is the elliptical. I can�t walk or run right now because of my foot (it supposedly takes a year to heal once you don�t injure it anymore � it last hurt about a month ago so if I don�t re-injure it, I have 11 months to go) and I don�t like riding a stationary bike.

So, what would you do? The prices are about the same (the old gym is about $5 more a month). Neither of them have contracts, but the new gym has a $50 joining fee, which I already paid.

I have a month to decide....I really like the old gym better, but the new gym is so freaking close.

I went to the new gym the past few nights, but I think I�m going to go to my old gym tonight. I miss it. But, my body hurts a lot from the past few days, so it shows that doing something new (even though it is an elliptical machine it feels different � works different muscles or something) is good for me.

I wish I could keep both memberships, but there is no way!

12:56 p.m. - March 28, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007