www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUPERBOWL BOUND

Holy Shit! Holy Shit! Holy Shit!

The Colts won! The Colts won! The Colts won!

Yesterday was one of the most memorable days of my life.

I got to the bar at 11 am. I was with 6 of my friends and we played cards until the Bears game. We cheered on the Bears and by the time the Colts took the field, we had been there for 7 hours. My stomach hurt and I was just so incredibly nervous.

The anticipation had built up all day and I felt like I was going to throw up (and no, not from the beers, I didn�t drink much). I know it�s just football, but last night it seemed like the most important thing in the world. There were times when I got so upset that I had to remind myself of the real problems in the world. It�s just a game, it�s just a game, it�s just a game.

The first half was horrendous. The Patriots had (I LOVE that I can use past tense) shut us down in every single playoff game. The Colts are good. One of the best teams in the league. We have been for years. For some reason, we used to choke in the playoffs. And we would lose � miserably. It would be such an embarrassment and so disappointing. During one playoff game, we didn�t score at all. Or maybe we got one field goal at the end. Horrible, horrible games.

And every single one of them was against the Pats. So you can see why it was so important to us. This was also the first AFC Championship game in Indianapolis. It was huge for the city. HUGE.

The second half of the game was incredible. But so awful at the same time. I honestly thought I was going to have a heart attack. I don�t know how many of you watched the game, but it was so intense. My shoulders and back hurt from the stress. I have no nails left and my voice is gone.

I love watching the game at a bar though. I love the solidarity. The cheering, the jumping, the screaming. And during the second half, the bar did the slow clap during all the commercial breaks and punt returns. I LOVE the slow clap. Starts out slow, gets faster and faster and faster and then everyone goes wild. I think we did the slow clap at least 10 times.

We also high-fived and screamed, �High Five, High Five, High Five,� while we were doing it. We decided it was lucky. I also have a new lucky hat. I put it on in the middle of the game, and they started doing well after that. It�s my hat for the SuperBowl (can you tell we aren�t superstitious at all?!?!).

And then when we won, I started crying. Almost all the girls (and probably some of the guys) at the bar did. It was just so fucking unbelievable.

I do have to say, the Patriots fans that were here were very, very gracious. Shockingly so. I�m sure there were some that were not nice, but all the ones on the news said things like, �You deserve it,� �Hope you win the SuperBowl,� and things like that. I appreciate it. After 6 years of them kicking our ass, we do deserve it.

And how cool is it that Tony Dungy and the coach of the Bears are going to the SuperBowl together? First off they are the first African-American coaches to do so, but they are also great friends. I really like the Bears and I�m happy that they are going to the SuperBowl with us.

Okay, watch this....so fun!!!!! And it shows some of the nice Pats fans too.

http://www.indystar.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20070122/VIDEO02/70122003

8:39 a.m. - January 22, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007