www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funny and Sad

The funniest thing happened to me a few days ago...

My boss and I went to Lowes to buy garden items including 124 bricks to create a border in one of the gardens. Because we�re a not-for-profit, one of the employees at Lowes allowed us to rent their truck for $20 and offered to ride back with us to our house and unload the truck. How nice, right?

Anyway, we went to customer service to rent the truck and the lady told us that the truck was parked right outside and that it was a white, flat bed truck with some wood in the back.

We walked outside and right in front of us was a huge flat bed semi with wood in the back. My boss and I looked at each other uncertainly but this truck definitely matched the description we were given.

She climbed (and I mean climbed � at least 3 steps) into the drivers seat and I did the same in the passengers seat. We sat there for a few minutes and tried to figure out how the truck worked. First off, her seat was so far off the ground, her feet didn�t even touch. Secondly there were 2 brakes and 1 gas pedal. One of the brakes was marked air brake and the other was not marked.

She figured out how to lower her seat and then asked me about the brakes. Because we only had to drive 100 feet straight ahead to go to the loading dock, I told her to just drive, hit both brakes and that we would get more concise directions from the employee who was going to help us.

At that moment a man opened up the drivers door and said, �Where are you going?� My boss said, �We rented the truck to take some materials back to our business.� The man said, �This isn�t your truck.� My boss said, �Yes it is. We rented it.�

The man started laughing hysterically and pointed to a truck on the other side of the semi. It was a flat bed PICK UP truck. Oh.

Needless to say, it was rather embarrassing but seriously funny. It got funnier when we realized that my boss was still holding the rental keys in her hand, yet the semi was already running.

The trucker told us he couldn�t wait to tell all of his friends the story about 2 young blonde girls trying to drive off in his semi.

***

On a sadder note � a much sadder note � my miniature Schnauzer, Reggie was put to sleep on Tuesday. He had diabetes and it was killing him. I got to spend a week with him when my parent�s were in Mexico and I said goodbye to him on Sunday.

It was one of the most awful things I had to do and I wasn�t strong enough to go with my mom when he was put to sleep. I don�t think I could have handled it.

I had a dream about him last night. He was a ghost dog in my dream and he followed me around all night and I got to pet him again. I woke up this morning and decided that I�m going to believe that he was really there in my dreams and that he will be back to visit.

It makes me feel better.

This will be the first time since I was 3 years old that I haven�t had a mini schnauzer in my life. I don�t know what I�m going to do.

I love Clyde, but he�s just not the same. I don�t know what I�m going to do with him. He�s not even 1 years old yet and he�s already had 4 homes. I�ve had him the longest � 7 months, but I�m not sure I can keep him.

I�m struggling with my finances and it makes sense for me to move to another apartment. No other apartment that I have found will take him. If the don�t have weight restrictions (he�s over 50 pounds), then they have breed restrictions (he�s a mutt, but 4 out of the 5 breeds that are restricted � Chow, Doberman, Rotweiller and German Shepard).

So basically I have to either do something for my wellbeing or Clyde�s well being. Find him a new home, move somewhere cheaper and safer or stay where I am and live paycheck to paycheck and keep Clyde.

Losing 2 dogs in a short time period would really suck. Plus Clyde would be so sad if I gave him up.

Really, this is all Jeremy�s fault. If he wouldn�t have fucked up, we would have been able to afford to move somewhere together. Having a roommate is so much cheaper. And no, I don�t know anyone who needs a roommate. All my friends are paired up.

Sadly, I have to let my apartment complex know by the end of this month. That�s not much time to figure things out.

1:36 p.m. - May 11, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007