www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sigh

Easter was a bit of a disaster.

It�s no secret that my sister-in-law and I are not the best of friends. I feel that over the years she has been extremely rude to me. I put up with it for awhile and even tried over and over again to connect with her.

The last year or so I�ve given up. I haven�t gone out of my way to talk to her, I don�t hug her when everyone else is hugging goodbye � I just don�t feel like I have to.

My family was driving me crazy on Easter and I took it out on Jen. I hate how my family fawns all over her and then barely acknowledges me. So, I said a few snappy things to her. Nothing that big � usually I�m just silent, but I couldn�t help myself this time. I�ve held my tongue for 5 years. That�s pretty good.

Anyway, my mom is mad at me. And my brother (her husband) called my mom and asked her why I hate Jen (his wife). He also emailed me a very sweet letter about how he was concerned about me and wanted me to be involved in his baby�s life (she�s due in October).

While it was a very nice email, I decided to come clean about my feelings for Jen. Ignoring her over the years is not working. I told my brother that I didn�t hate her, but I thought she hated me and didn�t care, so I stopped caring too. I gave him a few examples of things she has done and told him that I would be willing to talk to her if she wanted and that I would like to try to become friends with her.

He wrote back that he would talk to her and explained her behavior as being shy. Okay, there is barely anyone who is shyer than I am. After 5 years, I think you get over your shyness. Here are a few things she�s done:

1. Was concerned I was too fat to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. When I told her that I would be more than happy to be the Guest Book girl instead she changed her mind and decided it would look bad if she asked me not to be in it.
2. I helped her move all of her belongings into her new house (it took me 10 hours). When I got there she didn�t say hello to me and when I left she didn�t say goodbye.
3. She invited all the other bridesmaids to a spa with her to get their nails done together and didn�t invite me or even tell me that they all got French manicures. I was at the wedding with coral colored nails.
4. She has never called me (ever) or wished me a happy birthday or sent me a card. Everything I�ve gotten was from my brother and he signs her name at the bottom.
5. I invited both her and my brother to a concert last summer and really tried to talk to her. I sat by her on the party bus and sat next to her at the concert. The only time she talked to me was when she asked to bum a cigarette � she didn�t even say thank you for inviting me or goodbye. She just got into her car and left.
6. She has said derogatory things to my older brother when I�ve been in earshot and it takes all my self-control not to slap her across her face. Nobody talks to my brother like that!

Those are just a few examples that I can think of. Let�s not forget that not only did I help her move, I drove 3 hours to her hometown for a bridal shower, I threw her a bridal shower, paid for part of her bachelorette party and now I�m going to have to do it all over again for her baby showers. Oh, and I went to her 30th birthday party and the one time she went out for one of mine, she left after 15 minutes because it was too crowded (sorry I have so many friends).

So, that being said, I think that me NEVER being mean to her is a miracle. I have gone out of my way not to talk to her because I promised my mom and dad that if I didn�t have anything nice to say, I wouldn�t say anything at all.

I guess on Easter I just got tired of it. And I wasn�t even that mean. I asked her if she was turning 35 this year (nope, she�s turning 33 � I knew that, but thought it would be funny to add a few years). Later, when she was talking about how ugly Target maternity clothes are (�I wouldn�t let them touch my skin�), I said, �Really? I think they are SO cute! We must just have different tastes.�

My mom is mad at me for those two comments. Guess I�m not allowed to have my own opinion. And you better believe I�m buying all her baby shower presents from Target.

I just hate it because my parents go out of their way to make her feel comfortable and they could care less about my feelings. Don�t they care that she is mean to me? I guess not.

My mom said that I have to be polite and civil to her. I told her that I am going to stop coming to family dinners. I�m not needed there. They have their precious Jen (she�s skinny, she�s a lawyer, she�s carrying their grandchild, she�s rich) to replace me.

Oh, and another thing. She hates all dogs. Who hates all dogs? Evil mean people, that�s who.

But yeah, apparently I�m going to clear the air with her and give it one more chance. I feel like I�ve already given it 50 chances, but what�s one more, right?

1:43 p.m. - April 19, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007