www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aunt

Hi. I�m Liz and this entry is going to be completely selfish.

Quick recap: my life really sucks right now.

Flashback: Right after my ex (not Jeremy, the one before) and I broke up and I lost my job, I had to endure several months of wedding crap because my older brother was getting married. I played the part of the dateless, fat, unemployed sister at the wedding (while wearing the most hideous, unflattering bridesmaid dress).

Around the same time, my little brother just started his first semester at a private college, was getting straight A�s, decided to go pre-law and was dating a hot girl (both my dad�s friends and my older brother�s friends were very impressed with him). Again, I was the fat, dateless, unemployed loser sister.

Do you know how painful family gatherings are when your life is so...pointless compared to your brothers? At the wedding, I wanted to kill myself because I had to say over and over again, �No. I don�t have a date for the wedding� (actually I did � my loser ex agreed to go with me, but he wasn�t a real date). �No, I don�t have a job � I�ve sent out over 100 resumes and nobody wants me.� �Thank you. I really love this dress.�

Seriously, the dress? Made me want to die. I could barely walk down the aisle our of sheer embarrassment.

It took me months to get over that painful day. It was a slap in the face reminder of how great my brothers are and how fucking retarded I am. At least my parent�s got 2 out of 3 right � I know that�s what everyone was thinking.

Fast forward to last night: Phone rings. My older brother and his wife are expecting their first baby (the first grandchild for my parents). The phone rings again. My little brother is graduating Magna Cum Laude at his private college and will probably have his pick of law schools to chose from (he�s already been accepted into several).

Baby showers and graduation parties = lots of family time and lots of time for me to say, �No. I�m STILL single.� �I DO have a job this time though. No, I�m not a lawyer, banker or stockbroker (like everyone else in my family). I�m a (whispers because in my family it�s a dirty word) Social Worker.� �No, I don�t own a home � I still rent an apartment.� �Yes, I realize that if I followed in the footsteps of my brothers I would probably have a much better life right now.� �Oh and yes, I�m still fat and I have tried Weight Watchers, thank you.�

Seriously...I really am happy for my brothers. Just feeling sorry for myself.

9:42 a.m. - March 01, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007