www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's All About the Hair

I�m getting my hair cut today. This is monumental for me. Since my hair incident back in March of 2004, I�ve only had my hair cut 2 or 3 times (trimmed, not even cut). When you lose half the hair on your head, you really want to keep as much as you can.

My hair has somewhat recovered. It�s long � past my shoulders and the shortest pieces are above my chin (I have natural �layers� because of the incident). However, my hair is not as healthy has it used to be. It looks frizzy and fried (I know some of it has to do with the inch or so of split ends that I have). I use a butter treatment conditioner that you�re supposed to wash out, but I leave it in. I use it every day and my hair still looks frizzy.

I wash it everyday, but I work out so I have to. I don�t dry it anymore though. My poor hair. It�s funny how different your hair can make you look. I really think my hair has made me a lot uglier in the past 2 years. I should post photos of my hair before and after the incident. Scary.

Anyway, part of me want to get it cut to my chin and have it thinned out (I have curly-ish hair). Maybe getting it cut off would make it look healthier and not as big (I have the thickest hair ever). Plus my curls would be more defined and straightening my hair would be much easier.

I asked lots of people what I should do with my hair (because I am that clueless about what to do). On one hand I have been growing my hair out for 2 years and I loved my long (healthy) hair. On the other hand my hair is disgusting right now.

Everyone � every single person � told me that I had the most gorgeous hair they have ever seen. HUH? No, I don�t. It�s awful!! Yes, it�s shiny (thanks to the amount of conditioner I use) and super thick, but it�s frizzy and large. Plus I can�t do ANYTHING with it. I can�t straighten it because it�s still somewhat wavy (I can�t get all the bumps out) and it takes me 45 minutes. I put it in hot rollers, but by the end of the day, one side is still kind of curly and the other is just frizzy. I try to wear it curly, but not all my hair is curly (yes, some areas are still stick straight, some are wavy and some are spiral curly).

I wear it in piggies a lot, which sounds really gay, but it�s actually very cute. It�s not pig tails, but little buns on the side that have hair sticking out (Phoebe on Friends wore her hair the same way). I then wear a scarf like a headband in front of the piggies. I have scarves from my mom from the 60�s and 70�s. I�ll take a picture (if my hair�s not gone) and post it. And yeah, if my hair is gone, then I can�t put it up.

My boss suggested that I get and inch or so cut off and then have more layers put it so it�s not as big. I don�t know. And yes, I know it�s just hair, but after what I went through, it means so much more to me now (and no, I didn�t have cancer, I just accidentally burned off half my hair using an at home straightening kit � I did this because my once stick straight hair was becoming curly and I hated it � I still do).

Whatever I do, I�ll let you know tomorrow. I know � the excitement of it all might kill you. I do get off at 2 though for my appointment and I don�t have to come back in. I love my job.

9:01 a.m. - January 12, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007