www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Singletons vs. Couples

The frozen fettuccini alfredo was much better than the chicken fried steak I had yesterday. Much better. And Jeremy and I are having tacos tonight. Do you know what that means? Fresh meat. Fresh vegetables. Nothing frozen. It might be a Christmas miracle.

***

So, because I'm a huge pushover, I somehow agreed to take home 500 of our holiday mailings and stuff and seal them tonight. Sadly I have nothing better to do and Jeremy will help me.

***

I am way over-sensitive, but I think my friends might be becoming divided. The singletons versus the couples. I understand that the singletons do not want to go to a house party every weekend, because their hookup chances are slim to none.

I truly understand their point of view, and when I can (or want to), I am at the bar with them. I like to go out, but this has been a rough month for me (finacially speaking).

The past few weekends we (the collective we - our group, so to speak) have stayed in. Mostly to save money and also becasue it's cold and we have gone to the same bars for the past 8 years. It's fun every once in awhile, but not every weekend.

Because of this, the singletons have started to become sullen and are distancing themselves from us. That bothers me because I have always been a good friend regardless of relationship status and I expect the same in return.

I am at Girls Night 98% of the time (the singletons have not come in awhile and it's not because they're out doing something fabulous). When I do go out (and on the weekends, Jeremy is with me 99% of the time), I spend most of my time talking to the girls and Jeremy spends his time talking to the guys. It's always girls on one side and guys on the other whether or not it's dinner, someone's house or the bars.

I'm just annoyed because I feel guilty for having a boyfriend. Perhaps I should start making them feel guilty for having money? I just hate superficial crap like this. We're too old for it. I don't care if you have a boyfriend/girlfriend or not. You shouldn't care if I do or not either.

And plus, I hate hearing them moan about not having boyfriends. I hate not having money and being fat, but I don't dwell on it (okay, in this diary I do, but not in real life - that's why I have this diary). There's more to life. And perhaps if meeting a decent man at a bar hasn't worked out the past 8 years, get another game plan.

I still think my idea (I had it years ago - the last time I was single for more than a few months) is brillant. A hardware store on a Saturday/Sunday morning. Especially in the spring time when people are excited about doing gay outdoor things again. I bet there will be tons of guys. And strong, handy ones at that.

***

Speaking of being single. The singletons have started playing the game, "Have you met Ted," from the TV show "How I Met Your Mother." Has anyone else played this?

If those who have not seen the show, one person will go up to a person and say, "Have you met (insert friend's name here)" and walk away, leaving the friend standing there to talk to the guy.

That alone makes me so grateful I'm not single.

2:56 p.m. - December 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007