www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's All Panic!

Well, goingloopy and mozangeles were both correct (you guys should get a prize)! I am in fact having full-blown panic attacks.

My heart has been racing all day, I�ve been shaky and feeling a little sick (I think it might be from the adrenaline). My boss came into my office and asked what was wrong (she noticed that my hands were shaky and that I was jittery � I�m basically acting like I�m on speed) and I lost it.

I lost my breath, my face felt hot, my heart started racing and I started shaking uncontrollably. She looked at me and said, �You�re having a panic attack. Breathe deeply.�

She has had panic attacks ever since she was in college (she used to get them every half hour) and is somewhat an expert from personal experience. She has learned to control hers and they are few and far between (and not as severe as they once were).

I don�t want to have panic attacks. Especially because I don�t even know what I�m panicking about. Don�t you have to have a reason to panic? Sure, we�re broke, but that�s normal for me. Sure I�m fat, but that�s normal for me. Sure, I feel like my life is at a standstill, but that�s normal for me. Sure work is busy, but that�s normal for this time of year. What the hell?!?

Can panic attacks be a delayed response? The reason I ask is because all of a sudden on Sunday, I had the worst feeling of dread. My stomach hurt and I couldn�t sit still. Nothing specifically was wrong, but I had the worst feeling of �something awful is going to happen.� I didn�t have a panic attack or anything and slowly (an hour later) the feeling went away.

I didn�t even think about what happened on Sunday again until today when I realized that I was having panic attacks. My boss thinks they are not related (i.e. the panic attacks are not related to the feeling of dread), but that I have both anxiety and panic attacks.

Yay! Any advice anyone? I�ve heard to lift my foot up when I�m in the middle of an attack so I concentrate on something else, I�ve also heard to breathe deeply, which is really hard to do in the middle of an attack.

This is just so weird and so out of left field!

4:55 p.m. - November 09, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007