www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scary Story

The good news? I do not have any genital warts or any visible sign of HPV. I will have to wait a week to get my pap smear back to see if I have abnormal cells on my cervix. Thank you to everyone who left me kind notes and words of support.

***
The bad news? Jeremy and I totally cheated on our diet this weekend. It wasn�t *that* bad until last night. Jeremy and I were home Friday night and decided to play old school Nintendo. Then we decided it would be funny if every time our man died, we would have to do a shot of vodka. It was a fun night and when I got on the scale the next morning, I lost 2 pounds.

So, because alcohol aided in our weight loss, we decided that we were going to go out on Saturday night. I drank rum and diets and Michelob Ultras, which are the *best* things (except red wine) that you can drink on this diet. I got drunk (I was a hilarious drunk, by the way � Jeremy was laughing at me all night) and wanted food. Did I eat bad food? Not really, but kind of. I had a whole wheat, low fat English muffin with low fat cream cheese. Not unhealthy (definitely healthier than Taco Bell � which is coming later), but not on our diet.

Then yesterday we were fine, until dinner. I am so sick of the food, that I decided not to eat. Jeremy was starving and getting grouchy, so he left to get Taco Bell. Of course I had to eat that. But, I did have a salad, which is allowed on the diet (although the shell isn�t � and yes, I ate that too).

So yeah, this morning? I�m up 4 pounds, which sucks, but I know that it�s not all food and alcohol. One bad meal and a few beers (and shots) won�t do that to you. So today? Lots of veggies and water. Yum.

***
I had the scariest thing happen to me last Thursday. I was at the grocery store after work, picking out my produce, when I noticed a man standing close to me. Every time I moved, he moved with me. My gut instinct told me that something was wrong, but I ignored it.

At one point he reached over me and brushed his arm against my breasts. He apologized and I quickly walked away. I was furious but didn�t know what to do. Then, a few minutes later, I felt a hand on my ass (he followed me and came up on me again). I walked away again, but this time I was more panicked. He left the produce area (keep in mind is it after work and the store is crowded, so it wasn�t like we were alone) and I just stood there trying to figure out what to do.

I looked up and he was peering at me behind some shelves, waiting for me. I was frozen to the spot � I was thinking that I should run to my car, but I didn�t want him to follow me. I thought that I should scream at him, but I didn�t know how he would react.

It was awful that he touched me � that made me angry. It was so scary though, that he was watching me, following me and waiting for me. Once he ducked out of sight again, I ran to the floral department and walked behind that counter and hid from sight. I told the woman that some man was following me and touching me and she called the managers.

I told them what happened and they asked me to help them find him. We went out to the store and I immediately saw him looking up and down the aisles (looking for me � at that point I had been hidden for several minutes). I pointed him out, he turned and took off running. They didn�t catch him and a cop (a rent-a-cop who works there) walked me out to my car.

On the way home, I called my friend and told her what happened and guess what? Something similar happened to her, at that same store, by a man that matches my general description (I didn�t really get a good look at him because I didn�t want to make eye contact, even though that�s exactly what you�re supposed to do). He didn�t touch her, but he stood 4 feet behind her the entire time she shopped. He followed her up and down every aisle and watched her drive away.

It was one of the scariest things that has ever happened to me. I should have hit him or screamed, but I was just in shock. Who would have thought that you would get molested at a grocery store in broad daylight with dozens of people around?

Lesson learned, trust your gut. Also, I didn�t want to keep walking away from him or move my purse because he was black. I didn�t want to offend him or have him think that I was feeling weird about the situation because I�m white and he�s black. Second lesson learned: I don�t care who I offend anymore. If I feel uncomfortable, I will move my purse, cross the street or remove myself from the situation, no matter what your race, gender or ethnicity.

Yeah, I still can�t believe that happened to me.


9:22 a.m. - August 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007