www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chicago - Round 2

We had such a fantastic time in Chicago. I cannot wait until we do it again next year.

We arrived Friday afternoon, checked in and left to check out the sites. First we went to the John Hancock building and had a drink in their lounge (it�s on the 95th or 96th floor and has amazing views). After that, we walked around the neighborhood and went back to the hotel to get ready for the evening. We didn�t do much Friday night � we went to a sports bar on Ontario (Jake McLin�s or something like that) and then had a nightcap in our hotel lounge (I have never drank so many martini�s � I love them dirty).

Saturday we woke up and enjoyed breakfast at the Grande Lux. After breakfast we went to Chinatown and walked around for awhile. After that we went to the Art Museum and then took a cab to the southern end of Lincoln Park and walked back to our hotel (we walked down Astor and saw the gorgeous brownstones and shops). As soon as we got back, we got ready for the evening, but sadly ended up at Chili�s instead of a �Chicago-style� restaurant. Stupidly I ordered a steak at Chili�s instead of a sandwich or something � yuck!

After dinner we went to the Redhead Piano Bar, which was fun. Jeremy and I just sat at the bar, drank and talked. After we were done there, we went back to the hotel and had another drink at the bar. We then had the most wild sex ever (not at the bar, obviously).

On Sunday we went back to the Grande Lux (it is SO cheap and the food is so good) and then went home � kind of. Back story: on the way to Chicago Jeremy told me that I was the �worst navigator in the world.� Fine, but we got to Chicago and didn�t get lost (thanks to me). So, on the way home, since I obviously was of no use to him, I read a book instead of telling him how to get home. Yeah, and guess what happened? We ended up in South Bend, which probably means nothing to 99% of people reading this, but it was SO not the fastest way to get home. But we made it, 4.5 hours later. He was so mad � ha ha.

After we got home, we rushed to my parent�s house and had an awkward Easter dinner. It was fine actually, but it wasn�t the same since my mom is gone and we still have no idea when she�ll be back. My dad made filet mignon and we had salad with homemade blue cheese dressing, homemade bruschetta bread, spinach souffl� (from a box � nasty), baked potatoes and an ice cream pie. The best thing? I didn�t make one thing � my brothers and dad did it all. Also, we drank a lot of wine and watched basketball.

My older brother is convinced that I�m engaged, but am hiding it. He thought that Jeremy and I were all lovey and snuggly on Easter and that he must have asked me in Chicago. He thought that maybe I was going to wait to tell everyone when my mom got home. He even went as far as to call my little brother and my mom to ask them what they thought � so yeah, on Monday I had my family all calling me asking me if I was engaged. I�m not sure that they believe that I�m not. But, I�m not. Weird.

My grandpa is doing okay, I guess. He understands most everything, but cannot communicate well, nor can he control his right side. He�ll be in the hospital for at least another month. He did say �shit� the other day, which was encouraging � he showed appropriate emotion about being in a hospital (and responded with more than yes and no). He also said �please� and �thank you,� which is encouraging. It�s just going to be long road � a very long road.

Because of my mom being gone, I have my dog for the week. It�s almost like having a baby � he�s freaked out by his new surroundings and needs constant attention. I have the night off though. I�m going over to my friend�s house and we�re ordering pizza, sitting outside (it�s 70 degrees here) and drinking beer. My friend from Arizona is in town for tonight only (she is flying back to Arizona from Europe), so we�re going to see her.

I just looked at the weather and it�s going to be in the 40�s and rainy on Saturday. Blech � why couldn�t we have the nice weather on the weekend?!?

5:17 p.m. - March 29, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007