www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Mom, the Panicker

I don�t think my grandfather will ever be the same again � neither do the doctors. He is able to say a few words, but is not able to say what he wants. For example, my mom asked him if her name is Marcia (it is, by the way), and he responded, �Second.� It took my mom a few seconds but then realized that he meant second child, which she is. Also my cousin visited him and he asked, �Other girl.� My mom assumed that he meant her, but I think he might have meant me. My cousin and I are his only 2 granddaughters � maybe he was asking where I was.

The goal is to get them moved here in less than 30 days, which is so soon. Medicare will pay for my grandfather�s rehab if he�s here within 30 days of his hospitalization. That doesn�t give him much time, but he�s moving from ICU to a regular room today. Physically he�s not 100% either � he might not ever walk again because his right side has been affected.

I just hope that he is able to get around in some capacity, whether it�s in a wheelchair, walker or on his own. I also want him to be able to communicate somehow and I want him to understand what is going on. I also do not want him to be depressed � my other grandmother died because of depression. It�s a lot to ask for, but it�s not like I�m expecting a full recovery.

My job right now is working with the elderly and those living with Alzheimer�s, Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson�s, etc. and my boss is very well connected in the community. We will be able to get my grandfather the best of the best and maybe that�s why I�m here at this job anyway. If you believe that everything happens for a reason, maybe this job is so that my grandparent�s can get the help they need.

I wanted to be able to spend more time with my grandparent�s, and I guess that I will, but I just hate that it�s because of this.

Eh.

My mom is a bit of a panicker, which as you can imagine, she has done a lot of these past few days. She was out and about when she got the phone call about her dad, so she rushed to the groomers (where my mini schnauzer was) to pick him up. He was not done yet, but my mom wanted him then and there (she didn�t know when she was leaving, etc.), but unfortunately, he wasn�t finished yet. So, my poor little puppy has a shaved body and legs, but has a huge furry head and paws. My dad�s taking him tomorrow morning to get finished up.

My mom also panicked when she and my grandma were at dinner and my grandma leaned down to get her purse. My mom looked over and saw my grandma slumped on the table, so she screamed, which made my grandma scream and they both almost died of heart attacks. She�s a weirdo, but sadly, I�m also a panicker. Too funny.

Jeremy and I leave on our great Chicago trip tomorrow. I�m excited, but like the first time, I have no idea what we�re going to do. Oh well, I�m sure we�ll figure it out when the time comes. I know we want to go to Chinatown and out drinking, but who knows where we�ll end up? That�s part of the fun of it, I guess.

1 hour until my week is over!

4:26 p.m. - March 24, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007