www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Daylight Saving Time

I don�t feel very well today. It could be the torrential downpour, which at any minute will turn into ice and freezing rain (it�s currently 33 degrees). It could also be because my period is looming and sometimes it just makes me feel sick. It could be because I�ve been sitting in front of this computer all day and my eyes hurt from looking at the screen. Whatever it is, I just want the day to be over soon.

The local news lately has been abuzz with the possibility of adopting daylight savings time. First off there MUST be more important state topics that our new governor could address, but since he�s determined to make this change, I will talk about it here.

I realize that in not having to change time twice a year, I am much in the minority. To my knowledge, just parts of Indiana and Arizona do not �fall back and spring ahead� (how gay is that saying?). It�s not that big of a deal � all of my TV shows are on at the same time (except cable - it doesn�t adjust for us. All it really means is that Real World comes on at 9 in the summertime instead of 10).

Other than that, I see no real difference. In the summers here, it gets light at 5:30 am and stays that way until 9 pm. In other places, does it get light at 6:30 am and stay light until 10 pm? That�s too late for daylight. Plus, when you �fall back,� is it hard losing an hour of sleep? Does it take long to adjust? I think I would constantly be thinking, �I usually go to bed at 11, but technically it�s 12, even though the clock says it�s 11.� Does your work let you come in an hour later the first few days until you adjust?

And, ew. If you �fall back� does that means that you lose an hour of daylight in the morning? It�s bad enough that it doesn�t get light until 7:30 (although it does get dark here by 5:30), I cannot imagine total darkness until 8:30. That�s really weird! Driving to work in the dark would really suck.

I realize that it�s not a big deal, but I�ve never had to do it and I don�t want to start. I don�t think I�ve ever even been in a state while they changed times. It just seems like a big unnecessary hassle to me. Plus, half the time we�re on the same time as New York and the other half we�re on the same time as Chicago, so it�s not like we�re not in sync with a major metropolitan area at all times.

Guess I had more to say about it than I thought. I wonder if it will pass � it never does (someone new tries it all the time), but this governor seems determined. If I see one more government official cheese into the camera, �Let�s hear it for falling back and springing ahead,� I might vomit. But then, I would probably get to go home early.

Ugh�I really don�t feel well. Jeremy wants to have lots of hot sex tonight before I get my period, but that just doesn�t sound fun to me. We haven�t had sex yet in 2005, but really, it�s only the 5th. I was so sick the 1st and 2nd (from New Year�s Eve) and somehow we didn�t get around to it on Monday and last night I was mad at him (i.e. I am getting my period so everything he did made me want to rip off his face). Maybe it�ll make me feel better. We�ll see.

3:24 p.m. - January 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007