www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Basketball and Racing

From what I remember, the game sucked last night. I got drunk, but it wasn�t a fun drunk because I had a hard time seeing the TV. The first bar we went to was freezing. We ate dinner, drank 4 pitchers of beer and then left because it was so unbelievably cold. The second bar we went to was empty, but it was warm. I had three more drinks there, then Jeremy and I got McDonald�s (we obviously haven�t started our new healthy way of life) and I passed out. Luckily I don�t have a hangover today.

I also got sad about my best friend who died two years ago. I haven�t done that in awhile. It�s just so awful to think about how she�s not here anymore. It sounds bad, but I haven�t really thought about her in awhile � it�s easier not to. Thinking about her makes my heart and stomach hurt and I end up feeling sick and sad. Not a fun combination. But, I guess it�s good for me to think about her every once in awhile.

Jeremy and I are going to eat dinner tonight (I�m making steaks, homemade mashed potatoes, and rolls � yeah, still not on our diet), and then we�re going to watch TV. I�m excited for that because I�m tired and I love CSI and Without a Trace (plus I didn�t watch them this summer so they�re all going to be new to me).

We decided that on Saturday we�re going to drive down south and go to the beach (yeah, we�re in Indiana so it�s a lake, but it still looks like a beach dammit). We�re going to lay out all day and picnic and then come home in time to go out. Other than that, we have no weekend plans. It�s going to be a busy, crazy weekend with the Indianapolis 500. So many tourists and race fans � the bars will be packed Friday and Saturday night. I might go to the race, I�m sure I�ll cookout � I�m just happy to have a three-day weekend.

And no, I�m not white trash. If you�ve never been to a race before, don�t judge. I�m not into it at all � I�m not even sure if I could name 5 drivers. Going to the race involves drinking all day long, outside, with about 500,000 other people (during the race, the Indianapolis Speedway is the most populated area in the world). It also involves tradition that makes me cry every year � which makes me one of the sappiest people ever, I know. Florence Henderson sings the National Anthem (horribly), Jim Neighbors sings Back Home Again in Indiana, there is a prayer in all the driver�s languages, the Stealth Bombers fly overhead (which is amazing), and thousands of balloons are released (awful for the environment, I know). It�s a feel good, proud to be an American, kind of day. Plus, you can bring in your own alcohol, get shitfaced, and it doesn�t matter because everyone around you is too. Plus you get a fantastic tan (think huge amounts of asphalt and metal bleachers for the sun to reflect off of). And to top it off, they have the best Bloody Mary�s I�ve ever had (for only $6).

The same goes for NASCAR (except it�s a little more white trash) and Formula One (except it�s a lot more high class).

So yeah, that�s my take on car racing. I don�t watch the race, I use it as an excuse to drink during the day and get tan. Oh and to make fun of people � counting mullets is a sport at the track.

4:08 p.m. - May 27, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007