www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Job Description

I guess I never really described what I do for a living (besides make no money). My official title is very vague � Operations Coordinator. I work for a non-profit and I basically have three main jobs: I do the day-to-day bookkeeping and accounting (I like this best), I am the volunteer coordinator, and I am in charge of the �running of the house.� This means that I have to make the gardens look good, I have to make sure our facility is up to code with the Dept. of Health Guidelines, I review and process all maintenance request, and things like that. So, in a given day I am doing all sorts of random things. This morning I had a food safety training (yeah, I never want to eat again, which might not be a bad thing), and right now I am preparing statements for our finance meetings this afternoon and tonight. Then, the rest of this week will be spent preparing for a Yard Sale which we are having this weekend. See? All random things which are not directly connected. So, now you know why I complain about my lack of salary and benefits, but that is to be expected when working for a non-profit. And yes, I should just quit and get a job that pays more, but I really believe in what I do. So, it�s an internal struggle. The best solution would be if I was rich enough to work part-time and then donate the other half of my time to a non-profit. But, that�s not going to happen. Not unless I win the lottery or start engaging in illegal activities.

Things with Jeremy are getting better since our talk last night. He�s not so clingy and needy. He told me last night that he was just going to leave me alone and let me come to him, which is fine with me. He called me 8 times while I was work yesterday. WTF? I accused him of being a stalker and then didn�t really talk to him that much for the rest of the night. I�m sure he�s just acting jittery because he�s in a new town, and left all his family and friends behind. Understandable, but I need some breathing room. So, I told him all this last night and he�s okay. He was feeling like something was wrong with me, so he would bug me about it, I would get pissed and talk less, he would get upset and bug me more, I would get more pissed and talk even less, etc. It was an annoying cycle that had to end. I promise I'm not a bitch - I just need my space. I even wrote him a little note on a napkin in his lunch today. My mom used to do that when I was little. It said, "I hope you're having a great day. I love you. XOXO." See? I can be mushy and romantic too.

I just hope my finance meeting (can you get more boring?) doesn't last too long tonight. I want to get home in time to watch the America's Next Top Model: Where Are They Now special.

Oh, and Ali, you leave me notes, but you locked your diary. I just want to know how you're doing and how everything is going for you. If you don't give me your password, at least let me know you're okay:)

Okay, going to finish printing reports. Blah. I wish I could get drunk for the finance meetings. They would be more fun then.

3:45 p.m. - May 11, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007