www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad, Very Bad, Hair Day

This entry is about my hair, and once you read what happened to me, you�ll understand why I am able to devote an entire entry to it. But before I get into what happened this weekend, let me tell you a little bit about my hair.

I was born with black hair, which slowly turned to white-blond and was straight for the first 22 years of my life. In high school and college, I had the best hair ever. I didn�t realize it then, but looking back I would give anything to have that hair again. It was blond, straight, full and shiny - and I never once had a bad hair day. People even used to tell me that I should be a Pantene hair model � and when I say people, I mean everyone. People were always touching my hair or giving me compliments on it � it was nice. It was my thing. I never had to think about it or style it - it was just perfect all on it�s own.

After college my hair started to get wavy, which bothered me so much. My hair started to look lumpy all the time and was slowly getting darker. And since then, my hair has progressively gotten curlier and curlier. Parts of it are spiral curly while other sections are still stick straight. And because my hair was getting darker, I decided to go brunette, which was a mistake. A few months ago, I went lighter again (not quite blond, but the sun this summer will do it), but it�s not where I want it to be.

So, up until this weekend my hair was a mess. I would straighten it, but the spiral-curly sections of my hair wouldn�t get straight; I would try to wear it curly, but I had weird looking straight sections that I could do nothing with � it was a huge pain. Instead I used a large-barrel curling iron and made my hair flippy (think Farrah hair) � which I know is not really �in,� but it was the best I could do. Oh, and my hair is thick and fine, which is an odd combination. I have SO MUCH hair. So much, but it�s not course like most people�s with thick hair. Basically if I wear my hair in a ponytail, it�s so thick looking but pieces still slip out because my hair is so fine and soft. Weird I know.

So would you believe that my hair is now worse? I decided to get highlights this weekend from a low-cost hair place. Really, how hard is it to put golden blond highlights into hair that is already a light brown/dark blond. Not hard probably, but I�ll never know. I canceled my appointment when I saw the �Easy Straight� at home straightening kit. Do not EVER buy this product. Basically in three easy steps you can have stick straight hair for three months. I don�t have hair anymore. The chemicals from this product (and yes, I followed the directions EXACTLY) burned my scalp and ruined my hair. Granted, the hair that I do have is stick-straight so I guess one can argue that the product worked...

It�s awful and I�m not really exaggerating. My widow�s peak is burned off and the top of my head hurts like I have blisters or something. My hair has broken off in so many places and it falls out in clumps. Thank God, THANK GOD I had so much hair so you can�t really tell how much I�ve lost. I have a few baldish looking spots up top but the worst part is the way my hair looks. It�s fried and so sick looking. It looks like the worst before picture you could ever imagine. I went to the salon yesterday and bought products to treat �over-processed hair,� but nothing really worked. I�m fucked basically. And I was growing my hair out too, which really fucking sucks.

And yes, I know it�s just hair, but it was my hair and now it�s gone. And my head hurts too where the chemicals damaged my scalp. So what am I going to do? I guess I have to chop off all of my hair and get a boy�s haircut. I�ve never had hair shorter than chin-length before. Right now I�m wearing a black �jaunty� Britney Spears hat, which everyone says looks so cute. Fine, but I�m not Britney, I�m 26 and at work, so it�s not really appropriate. What if I hate my haircut and look really gross? Am I pretty enough to pull of short hair cut? If not, that�s going to fucking suck. I�m going to have to paint my nails, wear LOTS of makeup and skirts this summer so people don�t think I�m a boy. Thank God I have big boobs.

So yeah, that was my weekend. Poor Jeremy. This weekend wasn�t much fun for him. I was drunk and PMS-ing on Friday night. I was happy he was out, but I wasn�t in the mood to have him all over me, which hurt his feelings. He�s so lovey and kissy, which for the most part is fine, but not when I�m out drinking with all my girls. Saturday was the day of the hair disaster, which took all day to calm me down. We went to dinner and a movie that night even though I looked like a chemo patient. We saw Dawn of the Dead, which I thought was scary and pretty good. We came home and Jeremy gave me a �kiss massage,� which is when he kisses every inch of my body. It�s so wonderful and he does it so well. Sunday we went shopping for a hat for me and a suit for him and then came home and I made taco salad for dinner. Boring, boring, blah. Well except for my hair, but that�s exciting in a bad way. A VERY bad way.

1:19 p.m. - April 05, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007