www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chicago!!

I hate coming back to work when I had such a great weekend. Chicago is such an amazing city � I absolutely loved it! Jeremy and I are definitely going back this summer when it�s a little bit warmer and we have some more time. Maybe I�ll even get proposed to there. It would be there perfect place. I�ll have to hint about that to him.

Jeremy actually came to town last Wednesday night. We argued until Thursday night at 5:30 pm, which is when I decided to stop being a bitch. My hormones are still out of control and it�s getting ridiculous. After I got home from work on Thursday we went out for a few drinks and picked up dinner. It was around this time that my eye started to hurt.

I woke up at 2:30 am early Friday morning, and was awake until 7 am. Mostly because my eye was on fire and partly because of this book I am reading. In the book, the girl tries to get pregnant, takes a test � which comes back negative, and gets her period � but it only lasts one day. She�s moody and irritable of course ends up pregnant. You could insert my name into the book and it would be the story of my life (except for the fact that I�m not trying to get pregnant). So, I wake Jeremy up at 5 am and he goes out and gets me a pregnancy test. It comes back negative, which is great but then it makes me wonder what is going on with me then?

Anyway, we fall back asleep until 9 am or so and then he takes me to the eye doctor because my eye is bright red, watery and swollen. Turns out I have a corneal ulcer and can�t wear makeup or contacts until at least this Friday. Also, I�m in a lot of pain and things like light, wind and smoke hurt my eyes. We decide to go to Chicago still, which I�m glad we did, but it would have been better if my eye wasn�t all gross and infected.

We got there about 4 pm Chicago time and chilled out in the hotel until we went to dinner. After dinner we went to The Underground Wonder Bar, but only stayed until 11 because my eye started to hurt. Plus people were looking at me weird because I was wearing sunglasses in this extremely dark underground bar. So we went back to the hotel and were asleep before midnight. On Saturday we woke up and went to the Shedd Aquarium, the Field Museum and the Sears Tower. I ended up wearing one contact in my good eye and sunglasses because my eye was so gross.

After we went to the Sears Tower, we walked around trying to find a place to get a beer. It was then that we realized that the entire town was green and that everyone on the streets was drunk. Yeah, we missed the St. Patty�s Day Parade and drinking fest that everyone else knew about. Seriously everyone was wearing green and everyone was drunk. It looked so fun, but I�m sure we wouldn�t have been able to do it anyway (the wind would have hurt my eye). After that we went home and drank in the sports bar at our hotel and then went upstairs to rest up for our big night out on the town. The big night turned into us ordering food and renting a movie to watch in our room. Again, we were asleep by midnight.

On Sunday we checked out and walked to Michigan Avenue and went to the Water Tower to go shopping. I bought Jeremy some bikini brief underwear so he can tan in them. He tried them on for me later and seriously looked very hot. I never thought I would say that about a guy wearing bikini underwear, but Jeremy can pull it off. Plus they were black, not white, so they didn�t look so funny. I also bought us matching (yeah, we�re that stupid, but not stupid enough to wear them at the same time) t-shirts that say �Chicago� on them just because we wanted something to remind us of the trip, a new pair of flip flops with a heel from the Gap, and a pair of kick-ass, fuck-me heels from Steve Madden. After our shopping, we drove back to my house, watched a few movies, ate dinner and went to bed. He left this morning, but is coming back down Wednesday for St. Patty�s Day.

While we were shopping at the Water Tower, I tried on engagement rings! That�s a huge step for me. And, they had the EXACT one I wanted and it was my size. They were having a huge diamond sale too, where all rings were 50% off. My ring is so pretty and simple. It�s a very thin white gold band (with no side stones) with a one-carat marquis cut diamond. This ring was so big and sparkly and looked so good on my finger. It was on sale from $4,000 to $2,100! And she was going to give it to him for less. It just didn�t seem right for him to buy the ring while I was there. There�s no romance or surprise in that. I looked on the Internet for similar rings, and they�re all around $4,000. Guess we�ll just have to wait for another diamond sale again. It was like fate though. And he was ready to buy it. It just seemed so cold to me. I pick out a ring, he buys it, hands it to me and boom � we�re engaged. It was fun to try them on though...

We had such a great weekend together though. We spent a lot of time being stupid and laughing. I just wish my fucking eye wouldn�t have been infected, but we�re planning on going back again to do it right. And we didn�t have much sex, which isn�t that big of a deal, but when you�re in a beautiful hotel room in a beautiful city it�s something that you want to do. And I wanted to, but it�s hard to feel sexy when it feels like every time you blink there�s a piece of glass in your eye. But Jeremy was so wonderful and understanding. He held my hand the whole time to help lead me around, he read all the plaques in the museum�s for me, he even wore his sunglasses indoors and at night so we�d both look stupid.

I can�t wait to go back. And I really want to get engaged next time we�re there. I feel like it�s kind of our own city now. Maybe some place we�ll go every year on our anniversary or something. I don�t know...I just know that I can�t wait to go back. With Jeremy.

2:37 p.m. - March 15, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007