www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Family Affair

I am so angry right now. Furious actually. My parents do not really like Jeremy. My Mom has met him a few times (the first one was very brief � a minute or two), the second time was when she was screaming at me for dying my hair, and then she saw him this weekend at the charity event.

Jeremy was the perfect gentleman. He wanted to impress my parents, so he bought new jeans (which sounds lame, I know. But this was a jeans only charity event and I hate the ones he has), shaved, wore a nice shirt (which he always does � he almost always dresses preppier and nicer than I do), and was polite to both my parents. He refilled our wine glasses and sat at a table with my parents and me while all of our friends sat at a different table. It was loud in there, so most of the time it was my Mom, Dad and I talking to each other while Jeremy sat there. But, overall I thought it went over pretty well (Well, until the end of the night when Jeremy told my Dad if he ever needed a massage or to get worked on, he would do it. My father would never ever get a massage. Ever).

Anyway, I talked to my Mom today and when I asked what they thought about Jeremy, she responded with, �Eh.� Well that�s fucking fantastic. I asked her why and she said that my dad thought Jeremy lied to him. What?!? My father and Jeremy had a conversation about Peyton Manning and how he was tagged as our franchise player for 18 million. My dad thought he said that Peyton Manning was signed on to the Colts, not just tagged as a franchise player, and now thinks that Jeremy is a liar and that he probably lies to me all the time too. I�m really not kidding, even though that�s the most fucking ridiculous reason in the world to not like someone.

In the past, I would let my parent�s opinion sway the way I feel about someone, but I�m not going to this time. In fact, after my Mom told me this I told her that they better get used to him because I plan on marrying him. She said it was fine, that I could do what I want, but when I told her I still wasn�t having a wedding, she basically hung up the phone. And then, I did something that I�ve never done before � I confronted my father. I found the article in the paper about Peyton Manning possibly being signed as a franchise player (dated before the event) and emailed it to my father (at his work) and said something like, �This article was in the Indy Star before the event. Jeremy did not lie to you, nor does he lie to me. If there was any confusion, it was on your part.� And that was it. In 27 years, I�ve never stood up to my father before. Maybe it�s because right now he�s paying for my car, car insurance, and cell phone.

Whatever. I�m just so tired of my parents thinking that I�m so incompetent (which you might think that I am because my father�s paying for things). But the reality is, I can�t afford my car. My father wouldn�t let me get a used car or something that was lower or equal in value to my last car, which was a 2002 Jetta. Ridiculous. I could afford my insurance (I�ve never gotten in a car accident or even a speeding ticket), but my father has them sent to his house. My cell phone is through his work. See what I mean? They like to have control over me. I know they look at it as helping out, which it is, but it is also controlling. I just need to make more money so I can cut all the damn ties.

I just think it�s so ridiculous that my parent�s use superficial ways to judge people. Yes, it is true that Jeremy�s family is not well off or well educated. They are VERY different than my family, but that�s okay. They are nice people. They love their kids and have worked hard to have what they can. Jeremy loves me more than anyone ever has, he treats me like a princess, and he works hard to have a good life. In return, I love him just as much and am so lucky to have found someone like him. You know, after I got off the phone with my Mom, I started crying. I wasn�t sad, but just so pissed that they are trying to ruin this for me. I�m pissed that I can�t have a wedding because they�ll hate his family and make it the worst day of my life, I�m pissed that they don�t see in him what I do, and I�m pissed because it still bothers me. How come I am so different than the rest of my family?

And why the fuck do my parents think I deserve someone so fucking fantastic? What is their definition of fantastic? Money? What kind of man do they think will want to date an overweight office manager? Brad Pitt? I am the lucky one. There are not many people in the world like Jeremy, and how I managed to find one that loves me so much is a mystery.

I�m just so angry and tired and sad. This was not the best day for me to quit smoking. All my vices are gone � cigarettes, carbs, pot, biting my nails. I guess I still have alcohol and my one Diet Coke a day. Great, I�ll just become a drunk. It runs in my family so maybe this will bring us closer together. Good times.

2:09 p.m. - March 01, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007