www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fondue or Fon-Don't?

We went to a dinner theater last night and saw Crazy for You. It was such a great show. Lots of tap dancing, which I love.

One of my friend�s parent�s owns the dinner theater, and we get to go for free. Not only are the tickets free, but the prime rib buffet is free. So is the dessert and all the alcohol we want.

However, after last night, that might change. We had 4 tables of 4. Each table drank $100 worth of alcohol. Plus free tickets, plus dessert, plus dinner. I have no idea how much her parent�s spent last night. I feel like we should do some marketing for them or something.

The next play is Grease, which I am ecstatic about. I�ve seen it on stage before a half dozen times, but can�t wait to see it again. After that is the Christmas Spectacular, which will be just the thing to put me in the Christmas spirit. And yes, I am one of those people who love the holidays and love Christmas carols and ornaments and all that.

I think it�s mostly because my younger brother believed in Santa Clause until he was 10. Because of that, we pretended that there was a Santa until I was 16. I had 16 years of Santa coming to my house � do you know how rare that it? We baked cookies and left them out (plus a carrot for the reindeer), Santa wrote us notes and my parents stepped in the ashes and left boot marks around the tree.

Sometimes they would even jingle bells outside and say, �Ho Ho Ho� because my little brother was such a believer. It just made the holidays more fun. I can�t wait to have my own kids so I can do it all over again.

***

Tonight is fondue night, which might kill me. There will be 12 girls there, and I am �helping� even though I am not hosting it. It is at BL�s house and she and I went grocery shopping on Monday night to buy all the supplies.

I really don�t think we have enough food. Let me know what you think�

2 cheese fondues with 4 loaves of French bread, 1 bag carrots, 4 apples, 1 bag pretzels, fingerling potatoes.

Chef Salad

2 chocolate fondue with 2 cartons of strawberries, bananas, 1 bag of marshmallows, 1 pineapple, 1 pound cake (loaf style), cherries and pretzels.

Okay, that sounds like a lot of food, but let�s break it down per person:

Cheese Fondue: 1/3 a loaf of French bread (the skinny, hard kind), � carrot, 1/3 an apple, 1/24 a bag of pretzels and 3 fingerling potatoes.

Salad: She was going to buy 1 lb of lettuce, which would 1/12 of a pound per person�that�s nothing! So, we will probably be eating small, side salads.

Chocolate Fondue: 2 strawberries, 1/3 banana, 1/12 bag of marshmallows, 1/12 of a pineapple, 1/12 of a tiny pound cake, 5 cherries and 1/24 a bag of pretzels.

Is it just me, or will this not be enough food? I know that cheese and chocolate are filling, but seriously.

Oh, and by the way, never make fondue for 12 people. We spent $100 on this. We could have had a smaller group and bought the same amount. The girls are chipping in $5 each, which will cover half, but still�

At least it�s OC night!! Although sadly, I will be missing Big Brother, which I won�t get to see until Saturday night. We�re having our �Last Cookout of the Summer� and the girls will probably be inside for 2 hours watching Big Brother. It�s more fun watching it with everyone though�we all scream at the TV and make fun of the houseguests.

***

My embarrassing fact of the day: I made a TV chart. I�m not sure if I mentioned it here or not, so sorry if this is old news. This chart is by time and day (it�s in an excel spreadsheet) and is color coded to the specific network. I also included the dates that each of my shows were starting so I wouldn�t miss a single premier.

Yes, I�m that sad. But if anyone wants it (I watch all the basic shows that most of you probably watch), send me your email and I will get it to you.

9:42 a.m. - September 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007