www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jeremy's Grandpa

Jeremy�s grandpa died yesterday.

He was close to him, and it was his last living grandparent, which must make it even more difficult.

I am going with him to the calling and the funeral on Thursday and Friday. I have to work on Saturday.

Okay, I realize that this next section is going to sound selfish, but this is my diary and these are my true thoughts � I would never share them with Jeremy, which is why I�m writing them here.

I think that if either my grandma or grandpa died, I wouldn�t want Jeremy with me. Not because I don�t think he would be supportive, but because he doesn�t know them (they live in NC). When my best friend died, I only wanted to be surrounded by other people that really knew her. I only wanted to be around other people that felt the same way I did.

I met his grandfather once, and I really liked him, but I�m not family and I don�t really know anything about him. But because Jeremy wants me there, I�m going to go.

Another thing (which is so terribly selfish) is that I�m nervous to meet the rest of his family. First off, I hate that for the rest of their lives, they are going to remember that they met me at a funeral. Secondly, funerals are so awkward, and if you recall, I�m painfully shy until I get to know someone.

I�m imagining meeting his grieving family and standing there completely uncomfortable because I don�t know what to say or what to do. I hope to God that there is alcohol at this thing. I�ve never been to one where there was, but I might have to take a flask.

I was talking to my boss about this today and she knows how much I try to avoid uncomfortable social situations and she is making me take the days off to go.

It also sucks because we don�t have money at the moment, so we have to leave Thursday at 5 pm, drive 2 hours, go to the calling and leave again around 10 pm to drive 2 hours home. We have to then leave the next day at 9 am, drive 2 hours, go to the funeral, then drive 2 hours home. I then get to wake up the next day (Saturday) at 6:30 am and go to work for half a day.

All my girlfriends are in Vegas this weekend (I love being poor!), so I�ll have nobody but Jeremy to go out with on Saturday night. Now, because all the girls are out of town, I guarantee that the boys will try to pull a guy�s night, but if Jeremy thinks he�s going to leave me at home after a hellish 3 days, he�s mistaken. Either I�m going or the two of us are going to do our own thing.

Okay, selfish time is over. I just hate funerals and meeting family. Nothing like mixing the two together, all while having to sit in a car for a total of 8 hours in 24 hours. Oops. That was still selfish. Okay, I love Jeremy and I will do whatever he wants me to do in his time of need. Better?

5:18 p.m. - February 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007