www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funny

My grandpa�s funeral was...strange, sad and funny.

Strange because he was cremated and it was a first for me. It�s odd going to a calling/memorial service where there is no t0 say goodbye to. There was just a wooden box sitting on a table. It felt surreal and it wasn�t as sad.

Before I get to the funny part, let me just say that my grandpa was a known jokester. He loved jokes and was always telling them to make people laugh. He had joke books and would start and end most conversations with a joke or funny story.

At his memorial service, I was sitting between my brothers and we were in the row behind my parent�s, aunt and two cousins. As the female minister finished the service, she pointed and music started. She took a deep breath and began to sing. She wasn�t a bad singer � it was a little televangelist, but it wasn�t horrible. It was just SO surprising!

I heard a muffled sound and when I looked to my right, I saw my little brother with his head down and huge grin on his face. He was chuckling a little, but it wasn�t too bad. It made me smile a bit, but I was able to control myself. I took a few drinks of water and prayed that the lady would stop singing soon (laughter is very contagious for me).

A minute or so passed and I heard a choking noise to my left. My older brother was hysterically trying to keep his laughter in. Again, I felt laughter bubbling under the surface, but was able to contain it. Then, on the final verse, the minister sang a few very high notes and we all lost it. My cousins turned around, saw us and started laughing too. My mom even had a tissue over her mouth to hide her laughter.

I felt sort of bad for the minister (how much would it suck to get laughed at during a funeral?), but we decided that it must have been grandpa�s final joke. Only he would have the power to make his entire family laugh hysterically during his memorial service.

He got the last laugh and it was a good one.

***

So I�m kind of horny lately, which I take as a good sign. Unfortunately if you look in my archives, you�ll see what happened last time I broke up with my boyfriend and got the itch, so to speak.

3 guys in one weekend. That�s very slutty and not something I really want to go for again. That was back when I was 25, now that I�m 28, I�m much more refined and mature (right).

I wanted to kiss someone so badly on Saturday night. It didn�t happen. I just need to let go and things will happen when they happen.

Do you know how excited I am for a first kiss again? The thought of kissing someone new (it�s been 3 years) is such an exhilarating thought.

And the sex dreams I�ve been having! I�m having all sorts of crazy, mad sex in my dreams. In fact I didn�t get to work today until 9:45 because I was having amazing dreams. It�s insane.

But all in all, it�s a sign I�m moving on. Or I�m turning into a dirty old lady.

***

I also want to say congratulations to Jen on getting married!! I thought about you and Pete on Sunday and was hoping that you had great weather. I can�t wait to hear all about it!


11:33 a.m. - June 07, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007