www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from singlegirl1. Make your own badge here.
singlegirl's diary

singlegirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And May I Present......GoingLoopy!!

Hi. This is GoingLoopy, and I�ll be filling in for SingleGirl today. She was a fortunate winner of a contest on my website, and the prize was that she let me visit!

[Kicks off shoes. Locates ashtray. Locates beverage. Puts feet on coffee table. Sequesters dog in alternate room so dog will not go nuts over smell of cats. Flips through CD collection.]

Now that we�re all comfy....

The biggest difference between SingleGirl ("SG", �cause I�m lazy like that) and I is that she really likes being in a relationship, and I really don�t. Generally, anyway. However, I decided that, since a guest entry is sort of "walking in someone else�s shoes," I would try to make a list of the reasons why being in a relationship is a good thing...maybe to convince myself to quit thinking they suck.

  • Have automatic date for weddings, parties, and other functions
  • Sharing the bills
  • Family and friends quit asking about your dating life and/or sex life
  • Actually HAVING regular sex
  • Snuggle time
  • People quit setting you up with all their freaky loser friends
  • No feeling like you don�t get invited places because you don�t have a date
  • Built-in buffer for unpleasant family situations
  • Someone to carry heavy things from car to house and vice versa


The parts about sharing expenses, regular sex, and the carrying heavy things sound pretty good. This could be because I live in an upstairs apartment, and I miss cases of Diet Mountain Dew and wish I could buy those ginormous tubs of cat litter. However, in the interest of fairness, may I also present...why being a single girl is not so bad.

  • Knowing that any funk in your living space is your own
  • Complete control over music, TV and movie selections
  • Cats don�t ask where you were and how much money you spent
  • No one else�s pubes on your soap
  • Blowing half your paycheck on shoes and blowing off the electric bill for a week is no one�s business but your own
  • Freedom to lounge around house in completely mismatched pajamas for an entire weekend without getting any shit from someone claiming that "you used to dress up"
  • Don�t have to hide anything, except maybe the vibrator and the bong when your mom comes to visit


A few years ago, it seemed like all my friends were getting married. There were weddings right and left. And showers. And those few who remained single started to feel like complete losers. However, as I�ve gotten older, and listened to friends and co-workers piss and moan about their marriages and kids and obligations, I�ve learned to be happy right where I am. Freedom may be just another word for nothing left to lose...but doesn�t that mean you have everything to gain? I feel like I have had an opportunity to be myself and know myself that people who got married very young didn�t have. This means that (a) if I do meet the right person, I will come to the relationship as a complete individual and not look for them to be my other half and (b) if I don�t meet the right person, I�m perfectly okay with who and what I am.

I have my insecurities, sure. But I am not insecure in the way that counts. I know that I can take care of myself.

And I�m pretty sure that, deep down, SG knows the same thing.

3:34 p.m. - December 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

wicked-sezzy
stillsingle
unclebob
jess1976
clarity25
horseshoes
justagal
goingloopy
snoozie-girl
summerroll
lonelylatina
classygirl83
beckers-j
chicagojo
rdhdprincess
claritynew
mozangeles
portia12
icyjewel
bluemeany
beachbride06
alongcameme
formerlymr
kimberline
dieselengine
incog-notion
razor-vixen
meltingblu
vla
krugerpak007